Backblog

The Evolution Revolution

The New 52: My thoughts


I’ve tried to buy as many of the 52 new #1s that DC has been releasing this month so I can do a mini review of them here, since I am oblivious to any of the plot of the comics before the reboot. So far these are the ones I’ve found:

-Batwing: I loved the art and the writing. I am hoping that the plot develops well, too!
– Justice League International: I’m not sure how good the team lineup is (too much C-List and too much Batman), but I’m confident that it’ll get good as time goes on.
-Green Arrow: Great art. Too early to judge the story.
-Static Shock: I dunno. I like Static and the old cartoon was great, but the first issue villain was pretty lame and I am not a fan of Virgil now being a huge genius that has both parents.
-Swamp Thing: Meh. It’s a filler comic anyway.
-Batwoman: Why’s she so pale? Also this is obviously one of the comics that didn’t actually reset anything, leaving new readers like myself clueless.
-Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E.: ….WTF. Is this a parody? Please be a humor comic because this is so stupid.
-Deathstroke: Really cliched. Why is Slade so old, too?
-Red Lanterns: If a human, paticularly the grandson (spoilers :P) becomes a Red Lantern, it will make this all worthwhile.
-Green Lantern Corps: This one is cool. It shows the relationship between the Green Lanterns and the people, and the relationships between each other. I hope this folds out well and doesn’t end up just Green Lantern 2, like how Spider-Man had 3 or 4 titles back in the old days of 2006 and it was basically one weekly story.
-Legion of Superheroes: Nigh uncomprehensible to a new reader. Too many characters at once.
-Blackhawks: I know these guys from the Stupid Science section of Superdickery. I want a flying wheel so bad.
-Green Lantern: New Guardians: I was talking to someone earlier that there should totally be a Rainbow Guardian who is badass and fights the biggest cosmic battles in the universe, and then boom. That is what is happening now. I can’t wait for the inevitable splash page where he puts them on.
-Superman: A pretty good one-shot. Probably the only non arc-based story I’ve read so far!
The Flash: Fast-paced (no pun intended) and fun to read. I can’t wait to see how it unfolds.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

