Backblog

The Evolution Revolution

Comic Reactions: Like a Bunch (Part 1: Avengers)


Seeing Avengers on May 4 has prompted me to do quick reviews on all sorts of comics. I am reading way too many comics, I think. I have been doing this since May 5, and I have about 50 or 100 comics to do quick reviews and reactions for! Prepare for a bunch of dumb comic posts because I am definitely going to have to split these up.

The Nam #14

I did a rap version of this comic on my upcoming album, “The Rap-Off 2”. Look for it soon. But this comic is…. odd. It’s like a silly World War II comic, but the Vietnam War. A highly inappropriate war to do anything with because it was… not a very well-regarded one.

New Avengers #23

Finally. A conclusion to the Osborn-New Dark Avengers-Hammer-Hydra-AIM story thing. It was such a cool concept but it was executed so stupidly. It should have been a comics event, I regret to say. I know events are usually dumb, but this is one story that could have benefited from it! I mean seriously; three of the world’s most dangerous villain groups all teaming up, having acquired the DNA to several major heroes…. and then they are defeated within 12 issues among 2 different comics. Osborn was the crappiest purple final boss ever. But you already know my opinions on this. This issue is dumb because Hulk’s son is a huge deus ex machina plot device, but cool because of the art and that it is the introduction to the new Thunderbolts re-structuring, Dark Avengers! I am subscribing to it starting Dark Avengers #175; I hope it is really good.

New Avengers #25

A touching Jessica-Luke Cage conversation about the dangers of being an Avenger and the protection of their baby. The only problem I have with Bendis’s kind of comic writing in New Avengers is that, while it is really good, it decompresses the comics SO MUCH. It is good for the trade paperback, but not for the issue. Luckily, there are a few other cool scenes in this issue that show Red Hulk being a badass motivational speech giver twice. There’s also a really cool Avengers group shot, of all the current members of the three teams. I count 25 (28 with squirrel girl, jarvis, and Dr. Strange’s helper guy) but I feel like there are a few missing. I know Iron Fist is, even though he was on the previous page…

New Avengers #25

Some weird thing about a bunch of superheroes hundreds of years in the past training some girl who is definitely related to Jean Grey/Phoenix/Hope in some way. She becomes the next Iron Fist and uses the Phoenix’s power…or….something. I have no idea what was going on.

Avengers #24.1

It reintroduces Vision to the world after he was brought back to life by the Scarlet Witch…. just after the Other Vision was killed…. Yeah. I have 2 problems with this comic: 1) The art is ugly. It makes everyone look old. 2) It actually copypastes several pages from Avengers Disassembled. No changes. We are limited to like 32 pages per comic; I don’t want to pay for something already made 10 years ago!
Other than that it’s okay I guess.

Avengers #25

Some really crappy Captain America comic that has nothing to do with AvX at all except for the ending. And the art is bad. Walter Simonson is not bad, but the coloring and inking or something must have gone wrong because it just looks bad.

The Avengers Initiative (One-Shot)


It’s a movie tie-in and an introduction to each of the heroes. Absolutely the most useless print comic I have ever read. Why does this exist?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

