Backblog

The Evolution Revolution

Spooky Halloween Stories: Labyrinth of the Nun of Madness


(sorry about the delay. I had hoped to publish all three stories on 10/31, being the Halloween stories that they are, but my week has been extremely hectic, and at the worst time too, considering that nanowrimo has just begun! Anyway, enjoy:)

Labyrinth of the Nun of Madness
by Thedude3445

Welcome to my lair. You see, you are currently trapped, but this will not remain so. I will let you go. If you can find the exit, you can gladly leave. I would be happy for you if you were able to.
Why are you here, you ask? Do you not remember last night? An offer too good to refuse, an offer too good to be true– you knew you shouldn’t have accepted, but you went against your conscience and followed the old lady into her house. And now you are here, seemingly trapped in the iron bondage in which you are contained.
These chains, however, are not to restrain you. They are to keep you high enough above what lurks below that you will be safe. My realm is one of treachery; you should not wish to discover exactly what I mean by this.
Once I emancipate you from the bonds that are at the moment holding you in the safety of captivity, I would highly suggest you begin running. Quickly. Desperately. I cannot stress how imperative this is, for to describe the urgency is to exceed the capacity of what words can convey.
Lest you be trapped in the maze, it is also very nearly completely necessary that you memorize your path. It is a twisted one, and you may become lost many a time, no matter the caliber of your skill. A superb memory is one that will help you escape.
Ah, but do not forget! There will be hurdles along the way; hindrances to the chances of your success. A few spiked, a trap-door here and there, some pitfalls– You must keep these things in your mind, or risk being startled by a quick demise, which none of us desire.
Another thing: I have three pets. Their names are Olthgoton, D’i-raem and Uggunok. Do not encounter them during your attempt at escape. Trust me. You will not perish upon meeting them, not immediately at least– but you will wish it so. Their words and actions of dark horror hurt even my soul, already eternally damned as it is.
If you wish to be armed, however futile the notion, I will abide by your foolish request and supply you with the bones of my previous subject, if any still remain. Make with them what you will; whatever helps you.
Now…. Goodbye.

And good luck.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

